Sir Lindsay Hoyle to lead Lancashire All Party Parliamentary Group

Sir Lindsay Hoyle, currently the speaker of the House of Commons, has been appointed as honorary president of Lancashire All Party Parliamentary Group. Nigel Evans, the deputy speaker of the House of Commons, has taken up the role of honorary deputy president of Lancashire APPG. 

The group was formed in late 2020 to bring MPs and peers of all parties together with leaders in every tier of government, the private and voluntary sectors, to help promote the region and maximise investment for the benefit of all the communities of Lancashire.

The first meeting was held in December and the group has considered topics such as the Economic Prosperity Fund, skills, education and training, housing, and Lancashire’s place in the Northern Powerhouse.

Sir Lindsay, who is also Chorley’s MP, said: "Born and raised in the county it gives me great pleasure to accept the position. I look forward to hearing about the issues the group is involved in."

Nigel Evans, the Ribble Valley MP, added: "I am delighted to take on this role, as a Lancashire MP for nearly 30 years, in the heart of the county, it is a pleasure to be part of this important All Party Parliamentary Group."

David Morris MP, chairman of the group, and Member of Parliament for Morecambe and Lunesdale, said: "It is quite unusual for the speaker of the house to take on such a role because there are so many All Party Parliamentary Groups to choose from. Obviously, the county means a lot to Lindsay and we look forward to showing him what we can achieve as a cross-party group.

"With Parliamentarians like Nigel and Sir Lindsay involved in Lancashire APPG I am convinced we can achieve even more for our county in the months and years ahead."

  • For further Lancashire business news, advice and analysis subscribe to Lancashire Business View or join the LBV Hub from just £2.50 per month. Click here to subscribe now.