Chair of new Lancashire Innovation Board announced

The newly-formed Lancashire Innovation Board has appointed Professor Graham Baldwin as chair.

The new board has been created by the Lancashire Enterprise Partnership to bring together a range of private and public sector partners to provide the strategic leadership and accountability for the organisation's Innovation Plan and its delivery.

The board will champion and challenge interventions to deliver greater levels of innovation for the county.  

Graham, who is vice-chancellor of the University of Central Lancashire, said: "This is a fantastic opportunity to work with a whole host of partners to build on our existing innovation resources and drive forward Lancashire’s innovation agenda. 

"Lancashire has many strengths and assets to build on to move our productivity efforts forward. We are home to leading global businesses at the cutting edge of innovation in advanced manufacturing, supported by a supply chain cluster of high-tech small and medium-size enterprises (SMEs).  

He added: "Our long-standing and well-known strengths in aerospace, automotive, and energy industries sit alongside exciting, emerging strengths in sectors such as digital and applied healthcare. And through our high- performing universities and further education providers, working closely with national centres of research excellence and knowledge transfer partnerships, our excellence in deep thinking and research provides us with crucial competitive advantage.”

Steve Fogg, chair of the Lancashire Enterprise Partnership said: “I am delighted to announce the appointment of Graham as Chair of the Lancashire Innovation Board and look forward to working with both Graham and the board to deliver our innovation plans for Lancashire, which are more important now than ever. 

"From the Spinning Jenny to the development of the jet engine, Lancashire has always been able to build a vibrant economy, based on the innovation of those who work here. In 2020 the challenge has never been greater to harness innovation, to retain its competitive position and imagine Lancashire's industries of the future."

The Innovation Board includes: 

  • Tony Attard, CEO, Panaz 
  • Jane Binnion, founder, The Growing Club CIC 
  • Jane Dalton, founding director, Groundswell Innovation 
  • Gaynor Dykes, regional manager, Grant Thornton UK
  • Lorna Green, director of enterprise and growth, Innovation Agency 
  • Dr Rick Holland, regional manager for the North West of England, Innovate UK  
  • Natalie Jones, head of regional engagement, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council 
  • Pete Lee, continuous improvement and quality director, Victrex 
  • Lindsay Roche, director government affairs, Westinghouse UK 
  • Claire Whelan, managing director, The Ansuka Group 
  • Dion Williams, associate dean for enterprise and engagement and director of research, enterprise and innovation, Lancaster University 
  • For further Lancashire business news, advice and analysis subscribe to Lancashire Business View or join the LBV Hub from just £2.50 per month. Click here to subscribe now.