Lancashire's community heroes to be honoured

BBC Radio Lancashire is to honour the red rose county's community heroes at a special awards ceremony and businesses are encouraged to back the venture.

The event, which takes place in Blackburn's King Georges Hall September 14, recognises residents in categories covering voluntary work and being a good neighbour.

With 500 guests in attendance, the ceremony is a great chance to network alongside council leaders, CEOs, journalists and celebrity guests from across Lancashire. Individual tickets are now on sale and tables of ten can be purchased through Mike Stevens (email or call 07980 141 865.)

The evening's winners will be chosen from nominations submitted by the public. A judging panel selected a final shortlist of four in each category.

The finalists are currently being interviewed on the BBC Radio Lancashire Breakfast Show by presenter Graham Liver.

He said: “All of our finalists are simply amazing in their own way and I’m so pleased that BBC Radio Lancashire can help to get them some of the recognition they deserve."

Full list of finalists

The Volunteer of the Year Award:

  1. Harley Hyatt (Blackburn)
  2. Janet Pearce (Darwen)
  3. Jeanie King (Blackpool)
  4. Lorraine Hargreaves (Blackburn)

The Blue Light Award:

  1. Cameron Smith (Accrington)
  2. HM Coastguard – Area 15 (Lancashire-wide)
  3. SafeDrive StayAlive Lancashire (Lancashire-wide)
  4. PC Ian Ashton (Lancashire-wide)

The Carer Award:

  1. Brenda Matthews (Heysham)
  2. Joan McCormack (Blackpool)
  3. Joseph Fryer (Blackpool)
  4. Shaun Windle (Burnley)

The Good Neighbour Award:

  1. Denis Ashcroft (Chorley)
  2. Gordon Mellody (Blackburn)
  3. Jahangir Anwar (Burnley)
  4. Lee Gott (Caton near Lancaster)

The Education Award:

  1. Dave McPartlin (Fleetwood)
  2. Donald Strachan (Colne)
  3. Martin Grayston (Preston)
  4. Memoona Ansar (Blackburn)

The Ben Ashworth Award for Fundraising:

  1. Carole Davis (Blackburn)
  2. Tom and Jack Mayoh (Blackburn)
  3. Lewis Alexander Baxter (Clitheroe)
  4. Ethel Davies (Pilling)

The Community Project of the Year Award:

  1. Community Spirit (Blackburn)
  2. The Willow Garden Project (Fleetwood)
  3. Stanleys Community Centre (Morecambe)
  4. LOVEmyBEACH (St Annes)

The Companionship Award:

  1. CAMEO Luncheon Club (St Annes)
  2. Find a Friend Christmas Dinner (Leyland)
  3. Joan Musker (Leyland)
  4. Majid Mahmood (Burnley)

The Pride of Lancashire Award:

  1. Gail Forrest (Chorley)
  2. Unique Kidz and Co (Morecambe)
  3. Peter Taylor (Lea)
  4. Ken and Marie West (Bolton-le-Sands)
  • For further Lancashire business news, advice and analysis subscribe to Lancashire Business View or join the LBV Hub from just £2.50 per month. Click here to subscribe now.