Accrol Papers leader crowned director of the year

IoD North West has named Majid Hussain, of Accrol Papers, as overall director of the year.


It is the second consecutive year that a Blackburn firm has won the top honour, after Graham & Brown’s Ian Brown earned last year’s honour.

Another Lancashire success story was Cathy Elliott of Lancashire Community Foundation, who won Public and Third Sector Director of the Year,

Majid, who also won the award for family businesses, said: “There are so many great business leaders here that to be given this award is a great honour. It's not just my immediate family, but the family of 250 at Accrol who are all part of this success.”

Tony Attard, chairman of IoD North West, said: “The Director of the Year awards are always a great event to be involved with, and this year was no exception. I’m very proud that in the last decade the awards have grown in popularity, and this year we received a record number of really high quality entries.

“Congratulations to all of the winners and those shortlisted, who have demonstrated this year that, despite a challenging economy, they have the drive and the commitment to push their organisations forward and really raise the bar for business in the North West.”

The full list of winners are:

Director of The Year for a Large Company Steve Parfett - AG Parfett & Sons (Stockport)

Director of The Year for a Small to Medium Company Lawrence Jones - (Manchester)

Director of The Year for Corporate Responsibility Chris Lamont - Lamont Pridmore (Cumbria)

Director of The Year for a Family Company Majid Hussain - Accrol Papers (Blackburn)

Non Executive Director of The Year Clare Briegal - Warrington & Halton Hospitals NHS Trust (Cheshire)

Public and Third Sector Director of The Year Cathy Elliott - Lancashire Community Foundation (Accrington)

Young Director of The Year Colin Stevens - Better Bathrooms (Leigh)

Global Director of The Year Tony Moore – Tenmat (Manchester)

Weightmans Award for Innovation David Hymers – Totalpost Services PLC (Alston, Cumbria) Overall Director of the Year Majid Hussain - Accrol Papers (Blackburn)